The Following Awards were Presented/Announced at ICSE 2011


ICSE 2011 Distinguished Paper Awards

  1. Antonio Filieri, Carlo Ghezzi, and Giordano Tamburrelli, Run-Time Efficient Probabilistic Model Checking
  2. Lucas Cordeiro and Bernd Fischer, Verifying Multi-threaded Software using SMT-based Context-Bounded Model Checking
  3. Narayan Ramasubbu, Marcelo Cataldo, Rajesh Krishna Balan, and James D. Herbsleb, Configuring Global Software Teams: A Multi-Company Analysis of Project Productivity, Quality, and Profits
  4. Horatiu Dumitru, Marek Gibiec, Negar Hariri, Jane Cleland-Huang, Bamshad Mobasher, Carlos Castro-Herrera, and Mehdi Mirakhorli, On-demand Feature Recommendations Derived from Mining Public Product Descriptions
  5. Matt Staats, Michael W. Whalen, and Mats P.E. Heimdahl, Programs, Tests, and Oracles: The Foundations of Testing Revisited


MIP Award - Most Influential Paper 2001

Filippo Ricca and Paolo Tonella, Analysis and Testing of Web Applications. Proc. of the International Conference on Software Engineering (ICSE), pp. 25-34, Toronto, Canada, May 12-19, 2001.


New IEEE Fellows


IEEE TCSE Outstanding Service Award

Gene F. Hoffnagle, IBM (retired)


IEEE TCSE Outstanding Educator Award

Ian Sommerville,  St. Andrews University


IEEE Computer Society Harlan D. Mills Award

John Rushby,  SRI


New ACM Fellows


Distinguished ACM Members

Distinguished Engineer

Distinguished Scientists

  • Donald D. Cowan,  University of Waterloo
  • Gail C. Murphy,  University of British Columbia
  • Lori L. Pollock,  University of Delaware
  • Walter F. Tichy, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology


Senior ACM Members

  • Jeffrey C. Carver,  University of Alabama
  • Kevin Daimi,  University of Detroit Mercy
  • Glenn D. House, Sr.,  2Is Inc.
  • Chang Liu, Ohio University
  • Andrian Marcus,  Wayne State University
  • Sudarshan Murthy,  Wipro Technologies
  • Martin P. Robillard,  McGill University
  • Joseph P. Skudlarek,  Cypress Semiconductor Corp.
  • Colin Smythe,  Dunelm Services Limited
  • Jayakanth Srinivasan,  MIT


ACM SIGSOFT Distinguished Service Award

Jeff Kramer,  Imperial College London


ACM SIGSOFT Influential Educator Award

Ian Sommerville,  St. Andrews University


ACM SIGSOFT Outstanding Research Award

Mary Shaw and David Garlan, Carnegie Mellon University


SCORE - Student Contest on Software Engineering

Overall Award: David Bialik, Julian Fleischer, Hagen Mahnke, Konrad Reiche, and André Zoufahl, Friei Universität Berlin

Formal Methods Award: Yi Li, Hang Yang, and Huanan Wu, National University of Singapore


ACM Student Research Competition (sponsored by Microsoft Research)


  • 1st placeJulius Davies,  University of Victoria
  • 2nd placeVanessa Pena, Universidad de Chile


  • 1st placeShauvik Roy Choudhary,  Georgia Institute of Technology
  • 2nd placeSai Zhang,  University of Washington
  • 3rd placeSandeep Kumar,  National University of Singapore

"Innovative use of Microsoft technology"

  • Xusheng Xiao,  North Carolina State University