New Faculty and Researchers Symposium at ICSE 2011

Early Registration Deadline:  April 15th

The challenge of becoming a new assistant professor at a university or a researcher at a research lab is one that most people accept with enthusiasm and energy, but also with some trepidation. This first position is a signal of accomplishment and the culmination of many years of hard work but itsignals the start of another round of hard work and challenges that are new and often unfamiliar. Among these new challenges are establishing an independent research program, learning how to teach, learning how to mentor, and deciding how to balance career and personal life. For a new software engineering faculty member or researcher there are additional challenges such as obtaining financial support, supervising the development of software systems, and dealing with skeptical faculty colleagues from other disciplines.

The New Faculty and Researchers Symposium (NFRS), which was first held in conjunction with ICSE 01 in Toronto, has been organized with the goal of helping new software engineering faculty members and researchers feel more comfortable and confident in dealing with these many challenges. NFRS features presentations by leading academic software engineering faculty and researchers who provide advice and guidance based up their personal
experiences and insights into the contemporary academic software engineering community. There is also ample time for informal and small group interactions with the presenters and other attendees.

NFRS is designed to be a service to those who are within two years of(either before or after) their initial tenure track academic or research lab appointment, although the symposium may be of significant interest and value to others.

Register now: early registration closes on April 15th!

NF&RS Schedule is available at:

Speakers include:
       Mary Lou  Soffa
       Gregg Rothermell
       Alessandro Orso
       Gail Murphy
       Laura Dillon
       Lori Pollock
       Sebastian Uchitel
       James Jones
       Denys Poshyvanyk
       Miryung Kim
       Mary Jean Harrold (Chair)

To register visit